AAFE’s 42nd Annual Lunar New Year Banquet is coming up Thursday, March 17.

The banquet marks another incredible milestone for an organization that has never lost touch of its roots. This year’s celebration reminds us all of the incredible work that Asian Americans for Equality has done over the years, honors our incredible partners in equality and re-focuses the organization on the challenges of today and beyond. But why not do it all while having some fun!

The night will be filled with special guests, music, dancing and chances to win some great prizes. There will even be an audience member dance competition! Attendees can join in on the fun and attempt to waltz, tango or hustle their way to a free trip to Asia! On hand will be professional dancers offering a quick lesson before the competition begins. But wallflowers will not be left out of the fun, as the seated audience will be judging the “best in show” and one lucky voter will be drawn to also win a trip to Asia! So get your shoes shined or your pencils sharpened because either way, this year, you’ll be kicking up your heels.



Here are this year’s honorees:

Julissa Ferreras-Copeland
, NYC Councilmember 

Councilmember Ferreras-Copeland is this year’s “Dream of Equality” honoree for her support and dedication to bettering the lives of all New Yorkers. Her landmark fight to revitalize Flushing Meadows-Corona Park will create much-needed and higher quality open space for residents of Queens and the city as a whole.

Peter Koo
, NYC Councilmember

Councilmember Peter Koo is this year’s “Dream of Equality” honoree for his continued excellence in public service to New York City’s Asian American community. Councilmember Koo has been a staunch advocate for immigrants, small businesses and for improving access to quality healthcare for all New York City residents.

LaRay Brown
, Chief Executive Officer, Interfaith Medical Center

LaRay Brown is this year’s “Dream of Equality” honoree for her leadership in advancing the field of community health. Ms. Brown has dedicated her career, and amassed an incredible record of achievement, in aiding underserved communities throughout New York City.

Jay Hershenson, 
Senior Vice Chancellor and Secretary of the Board of Trustees, The City University of New York

Senior Vice Chancelor Jay Hershenson is this year’s “Dream of Equality” honoree for transforming the lives of countless immigrant students through his dedication and commitment to greater access to higher education. Mr. Hershenson co-founded “Citizenship Now,” which together with the New York Daily News, has assisted nearly 144,000 immigrants over the last 11 years. He has also brought education to television as the executive producer of the CUNY TV television shows “Study With the Best,” “Asian American Life,” “Science and U” and “Nueva York”.

Mohammad Razvi
, Founder and Executive Director, Council of Peoples Organization

Mohammad Razvi is this year’s “Dream of Equality” Honoree for his tireless work in assisting low income immigrant families from South Asian and Muslim Arab communities. Mr. Razvi has made great strides in empowering marginalized communities to advocate for their rights and has worked to build bridges between law enforcement and the communities they serve.